BS381C 110 Roundel Blue - Record Vice Blue

 
(18 reviews)  

5 stars
 18 review(s)
4 stars: 
 0 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
18 results found
Show results 1 - 18
David Rolfe
Jun 8, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Superb product and excellent service. Thank you. This is the second time I have purchased this paint and it gives an excellent finish; smooth and very easy to apply to bare steel or pre-painted metal. Paint tin lid is taped and clipped and tin itself is well packed so completely safe in transit. Will definitely buy again from this supplier.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mike Bentley
Dec 6, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Fabulous original paint and great service. Brought my Record vice back to life. Many Thanks
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Malcolm Jelley
Jan 29, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Quick response great product

Advantages: choice

Disadvantages: NONE
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Alex Rutter
Jul 30, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I don’t normally write reviews but this paint is amazing. I restored my grandads record vice which he took off a WW2 aircraft carrier, first time round I just used any old blue paint but this time I got this and wow... easy to apply... great colour... rock hard when dry it’s amazing!

Advantages: Colour intensity. Ease of use


Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dave Allan
Apr 15, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Excellent colour density.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Richard Koscinski
Jul 29, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The tin came extremely well packaged and the paint was the exact match I needed. Brilliant!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ro Jackson
Apr 25, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Excellent service, quick and perfectly packaged.
5 stars!!!

Advantages: Every colour for so many machines.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ross Morrow
Jul 6, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Thank you so very much for such a prompt service.

I didn’t have any verbal conversation, but in light of how fast your delivery was, and
the really, really very well packaged parcel that I received I would have absolutely no problem at all in recommending your company.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
michael kelsall
Jul 7, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Colour is great I have and had for year’s a record wood bench vice and I am about to renovate it for sale.

Advantages: Great service.

Disadvantages: Great product.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Stephen Lomax
Jul 13, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I discovered this website on a vice restoration forum. The Record blue was what I was after and this paint is a great match. Ordering was easy and delivery was swift.

Advantages: Great selection.
Perfect colour match for vintage items.
Easy application with a brush.
Brush is cleaned easily with turps.

Disadvantages: Strong fumes


Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Chris Johnson
May 10, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great service and top quality

Advantages: as above
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
lyn williams
May 19, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Blue for Record vice is spot on, went on well and looks good dry.

Advantages: It just did what it said on the tin.

Disadvantages: A bit slow to dry.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Paul Oakey
Jun 23, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Lockdown prompts the jobs you would not normally do such as refurbishing my 50 odd G-Cramps after 40 years of use.

Advantages: Two coats of Roundel Blue covered well leaving an as new finish which seems to be stand the normal knocks of use without chipping. Very pleased with this product.

Disadvantages: None.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Rob Jenkins
Aug 11, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Purchased this to renovate my collection of old G clamps. I was advised over the phone to go for the semi gloss as this is in keeping with Record's colour scheme.
I was pleasantly surprised how much coverage you get from a 1/2 litre tin. I've managed to paint 8 clamps, 3 large vices and a wood turning lathe with 3/4 of the tine.
The paint contains good pigmentation so I found a single coat on bare metal is sufficient with most castings.
You need to be well prepared and work quickly on large smooth surfaces to avoid the paint dragging. (this maybe down to climatic conditions) For such surfaces a few drops of white spirit helps prolong the wet edge. This could effect the gloss finish so experimentation is advisable
I found by dispensing smaller quantities in yogurt pots keeps the original paint tin clean and uncontaminated.
Runs can occur, so advisable to paint in the flat until the paints skin hardens
NB. Spray finish maybe more suitable for large smooth areas.

Advantages: Good coverage
Good pigmentation
Good colour range
Quick drying
Excellent painting advice tab on this website.

Disadvantages: None for the product.
Carriage could seem expensive for a single small tin. I bought Smoke Grey at the same time for a future Boxford Lathe renovation to make it more cost effective.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Abraham McGeachie
Aug 19, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Excellent colour match and ease of application shows what an ideal product this is. The points expressed by the manufacturer were all met if not exceeded.

Advantages: Stability of the paint when carrying out refurbs results in an appearance of a new unit rather than a refurbished one.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Michael Chapman
Aug 23, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This paint matches the original colour on a rare Record vice. The restored vice looks great. The paint covers well, sticks well and dries reasonably fast. Very happy. Highly recommended.

The paint was delivered next day and was well packaged with clips and tape on the tin and bubble wrapped in a box.

Advantages: Perfect match.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Geoff Brazier
Sep 12, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great service from Paragon. Kept me informed of order status & delivery was prompt.

Advantages: Would definitely use again - needed this enamel to renovate a vintage Stanley ‘Record’ No 4 plane.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Matt Waite
Oct 4, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I was afraid this might be a specialist coating, unsuited to the ham fisted painter, but the paint resisted most of my attempts to make it run and sag. Would definitely recommend to others.

Advantages: Covers well, good opacity, high build will help fill scratches and pores in castings.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)